Welcome to the 14th International EML Symposium

Print this section | All sections

Larger Type | Smaller Type


One of the highlights of the symposium is the Conference Awards Banquet, where individuals are recognized for their contributions to electromagnetic launch technology. Nominations are solicited for the Peter Mark Medal and the Peter Kemmey Memorial Student Scholarship Award.

Peter J. Kemmey Memorial Student Scholarship

This scholarship was established as a tribute to the memory of the late Dr. Peter J. Kemmey, whose ideas and pioneering vision contributed to the broad EML initiative that began in the late 1970s, and the establishment of the EML Symposium shortly thereafter. This scholarship will cover transportation, lodging and registration fees for the symposium, up to $2,000 per student.

Congratulations to the 2008 Recipients!

Mohammad Rahimzadeh
Iran University of Science and Technology

Mr. Mohammad Rahimzadeh is working toward his PhD in Mechanical Engineering at the Iran University of Science and Technology (IUST). He has performed experimental and theoretical research in the field of electromagnetic launchers since November 2000. During that period, he has been actively involved in the conceptual and detail design of SBAR electromagnetic launchers, which was partially documented in the paper entitled, “Design and modeling of SBAR electromagnetic launcher,” which was published in the Proceeding of 13th EML Symposium. His academic work has also included research on the determination of bore deformation and investigation of inertial effects and these results were published in ISME.

Mr. Rahimzadeh is currently studying the transient elastic waves in the rails of electromagnetic launchers with high speed armatures, as well as its effects on rail-armature interface. He has presented a theoretical analysis to assess dynamic response of electromagnetic launchers that is compared with the static solution. The topic is explored in his paper, “Dynamic response and armature critical velocity studies in electromagnetic launchers” which was presented at the 13th EML symposium and also published in the IEEE Transactions on Magnetics. He is native of Gonbad Kavoos, Golestan province, Iran.


Mr. Dinesh G. Bansal
is a Ph.D. candidate in mechanical engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology. His current research is focused on studying tribological phenomena at the interface of sliding electrical contacts. The objective of the study is to gain better understanding of the wear phenomena and the various factors influencing the same in electrical contacts subjected to high contact pressures and large current densities, such as in electromagnetic launch (EML) systems. This topic is explored in his paper “Behavior of Copper-Aluminum Tribological Pair under High Current Densities”, which will be presented at the 14th International EML Symposium. The research activity is sponsored by the Office of Naval Research (ONR) Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) grant.
Mr. Bansal has a Bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Mumbai, India and a Master’s degree in mechanical engineering from Purdue University, West Lafayette. He is a native of Mumbai, India.

Previous Recipients:  Anthony Johnson (13th), Alex Sitzman (13th), Jeroen de Boeij (12th),
David Melton (12th), Aaron Saenz (11th), Gary McHale (11th), Cliff Thomas (10th)
Troy Savoie (10th), Jun li (9th)


Peter Mark Medal

The Peter Mark Medal, initiated in 1983, is named in honor of the late Professor Peter Mark, solid-state physicist and electrical engineer from Princeton University whose enthusiasm, intelligence, and vision helped contribute to the initiation of the U.S. program on electromagnetic launch technology. In addition to his participation in the development of the initial proposal to the Department of Defense, Professor Mark's early contributions as one of the founding members of the U.S. National Advisory Panel on Electromagnetic Guns and Launchers and his technical insight provided inspiration and direction for the emerging research program.

Selection Criteria

The purpose of this award is to recognize an individual’s continuing outstanding technical and educational contributions to electromagnetic launch technology. All nominations for the Peter Mark Medal should be in the form of a letter naming the individual and describing his or her lifetime contributions to the technology. Nominations are reviewed and the selection is made by the International EML Symposium Committee. The following criteria are used by the Committee members as guidelines to make their selection:

* Mastery of the science
* Execution / Impact
* Mastery of the technology
* Commitment
* Education of the community
* Creativity / Innovation
* Leadership / Advocacy

Previous Recipients:  Alex Zielinski (13th), Francis Stefani (12th), David Haugh (11th)
Gennady Shvetsov (10th) Keith Jamison (9th), Dave Bauer (8th), Jerry Parker (7th), Ron Hawke (6th)
Ian McNab (5th), John Barber (4th), Bill Weldon (3rd), Henry Kolm (2nd), Dick Marshall (2nd)

| NEXT Exhibitors

Contact: Michelle Ramsey
Phone: 512-232-4451
Fax: 512-471-1379
Email: [email protected]


We are at the threshold of a new era in the applications of electromagnetic launch technology.

add your name print pdf larger type print this